National Dementia Education and Training Standards Framework

Domains of Learning

Dementia Awareness
and Understanding

Dementia Diagnosis
and Support

Human Rights, Ethics and Safeguarding

Physical Wellbeing

Enabling Environments

Person-Centred Care

Working in Partnerships with Families and Carers

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders

Independence and Enablement

Emotional Wellbeing and Mental Health

Communication and Connection



End of Life

Tiers of Learning

Tier 1


Provides basic dementia knowledge and information relevant to all people working with or supporting a person living with dementia.

Tier 2


Builds on the Introductory level and provides the knowledge and skills that should be required of all health and aged care staff working (directly or substantial contact) with a person living with dementia and carers.

Tier 3

Enhanced Practice

Building on tier 1 and tier 2, the Enhanced practice tier is aimed at practitioners who wish to develop a deeper knowledge and skill base for working with people living with dementia and their carers and people progressing to become dementia specialist practitioners.

Tier 4

Advanced Practice / Expertise

Building on the previous three tiers, it provides the advanced knowledge and skills for the development of dementia specialist, researchers and thought and practice leaders, which play key leadership roles in the advancement of understanding and evidence, innovation, support, and treatment of people living with dementia and their carers.